Skip to content

Basil’s all grown up

March 25, 2009

basiltransplant0_031509With indoor seed sowing season in full swing, and an early Spring planting season, I’m getting behind in my blog-keeping duties. The last several weekends have been really beautiful – gardening weather, without a doubt, indoors or out. (Not weather for sitting behind a computer, no sireee.)

The rocket, radish, and lettuce seeds and garlic bulbs that I planted on March 15th are all up and about (crazy garlic – I’ve never seen garlic leaf out so quickly. I’m simultaneously intrigued and suspicious…). No photos of those babies yet, though. Like I said, I’m behind on this stuff.

Also on March 15th, I transplanted my 60-some basil seedlings into their big-boy pots. They’re just beautiful, and I can’t wait to get them settled into my new tiered basil rock garden (created by my brilliant landscaper brother, who has a way with rock gardens like no one else).

Normally, I transplant seedlings to peat pots for that last stage of growth before they go into the ground in May, but, this year, I’m trying something new. CowPots. Made with cow manure compost instead of peat. I’ll be happy if they just disintegrate as promised — peat pots don’t — so that I’m not spearing peat pot slabs in the Fall with my pitchfork when I’m turning chop into the gardens (how irritating is that, I cannot tell you…).

basiltransplant1_031509

Roots hanging out of the peat pellet – yep, it’s time to transplant!
basiltransplant2_031509

CowPots. I fell hook, line and sinker for the marketing. If nothing else, I figure they can’t be worse than the peat pots.
basiltransplant3_0315091

Sweet basil getting all snuggly in their new homes on their foil-lined trays.
basiltransplant4_031509

Red Rubin basil in their Cowpots (Lil Red is the one on the right – not so little anymore!).
5 Comments
  1. March 25, 2009 8:46 pm

    Looks so good! Basil is a hard one for me to grow. I love it fresh all summer long!

  2. soupaddict permalink
    March 25, 2009 8:52 pm

    For me, it’s rosemary that’s cranky. I have *never* been able to grow it successfully from seed. This year is looking to be no different. Sigh.

  3. March 26, 2009 4:22 am

    HA! My rosemary is failing too! My bell peppers and green beans are not making much progress either. But I have 4 cucumber, 4 zucchini and 8 tomato plants that are in full swing. I absolutely have to plant the cukes and zukes this weekend though. They are falling over.

  4. June 2, 2009 6:05 am

    We received an AeroGarden for Christmas last year. The chives never get started on the thing, but the basil . . . napalm couldn’t stop the stuff. I’m thinking of writing something called “Jack and the Basilstalk.”

  5. soupaddict permalink
    June 2, 2009 8:55 am

    I can’t get enough basil. Brilliant stuff. This weekend, I’m thinking of baking up some wild mushroom ciabatta and topping it was pesto (homemade, of course) and fresh mozzarella. (Mmmm. Why, oh, why are the work weeks so long….) Did I tell you I’m growing lemongrass this year? And a variety of hot peppers. I thought of you as I was buying Thai Hot plants. I also have peach habanero seeds, but they didn’t make the cut this year.

Comments are closed.

