Skip to content

Winter’s hanging on, but the seedlings pay no mind.

March 11, 2009

After several days of lovely warm weather, there’s a nip in the air again. That’s okay. It’s still winter for another week or so, so I can’t be shocked or outraged. And, I have a feeling … and it’s a pretty strong one … that we’re done with snow until next winter.

In Cincinnati, a mid-March squall with accumulating snow is a reliable occurrence. One last Winter slapdown on your cheery mood before Spring kicks him out on his rear. Not this year. No, sir.

It’s dipping into the 20’s as I type, but, the end is in sight. My seedlings seem to be in agreement.

seedlings_danversfirst_031109

The first carrot seedling, a Danvers, broke through the soil yesterday. Here it is today, ready to unfold its cotyledons.
seedlings_danversbubble_031109

Another Danvers seedling, this one with a bubble of water arched within the first pair of leaves.
seedlings_sweettreat_031109

A blurry little photo of a Sweet Treat carrot seedling. 5 total are up today. (45 left to go. D’oh!).
seedlings_siamqueen_031109

A beautiful Siam Queen Basil Seedling. Even this young, its sweet anise scent is already quite strong.
seedlings_basilforest_031109

My little basil forest. Most of the seedlings are 3″ tall, and they’ll be transplanted when they reach 4″. Probably over the coming weekend.
seedlings_lilred_031109

And, last but not least, Little Red. Hard to believe that just a couple of weeks ago, he was barely just shaking off his seed shell.
2 Comments
  1. March 13, 2009 11:02 am

    OH…I have a basil question. How many basil plants can i put in one big pot? I have a planter that is at least 12 in X 12 in X 12 in. that I will eventually put them in. It looks like you have a lot of them in one pot…will they stay that way or will you separate them out?

  2. soupaddict permalink
    March 13, 2009 9:22 pm

    I’m known for cramming things together. I think I would plant a 3 x 3 grid of basils – 3 rows of 3. Or, if that seems too cramped once you get the dirt into the pot, try just 6. That gives the plants a few inches of wiggle room. Most basils tend to grow straight up – sweet, dark opal, red rubin, siam queen, so they won’t mind being cozy as long as they can get their fair of light. If you purchased a bush or box form of basil, you might only be able to fit one.

    You have good eyes – I did sow 2 seeds into each pellet. Most people do this to increase the odds that each pellet will have one good seedling. If both seeds sprout, you’re supposed to snip off the weaker seedling, but I never do. When they’re ready to transplant – and my basils are ready to graduate to bigger pots this weekend – I’ll pull the netting off the Jiffy-7 pellets and gently jiggle them apart. Then they’ll go 3 or 4 in the next pot. Like I said, I like to cram things together. It’s my version of the intensive planting method. 🙂

Comments are closed.

