Skip to content

A really great Spring weekend.

March 10, 2009

Despite the hideously early Daylight Savings Time change [really, the mornings were just starting to be light when I awoke; I really didn’t need the morning-darkness setback], which I only began recovering from today (everyone in the office was drinking coffee yesterday – even my coffee-hating boss, who won’t even bite into one of my cookies if I don’t successfully convince him that I haven’t used espresso powder in them).

Alright, that’s a run-on sentence that I’m just going to let run and start over in another paragraph. Let’s just say that Daylight Savings Time was quite the challenge, and leave it at that! Now on to the good stuff….

The rest of the weekend, however, was fantastic. It was the first really warm weekend of the year, the kind of warmth that you feel in your bones. You know what I mean. Not the fake February warmth, where the breeze is warmish, but there’s still the faintest whiff of frost in the air. This was warmth. Honest-to-goodness, t-shirt wearin’ warmth.

So, of course, I was out in the gardens. Garlic’s going crazy. Tulips and crocuses are popping up everywhere. Even the shallots are starting to make their appearance. It’s garden goodness, inside and out (two Danvers carrot seedlings poked through the dirt today under the indoor lights).

Most of my gardens are ready to go, thanks to extra care, compost, and chop in the Fall’s putting-to-bed efforts. But, one bed with late carrots, arugula and cauliflower still had to be turned for the Spring plantings. I happily grabbed the shovel and got to work.

How easily the shovel cut the earth! The ground thawed down deep earlier than I thought it would. If the daytime temps hold above freezing this week, I might sow some seeds outside this weekend – several weekends ahead of schedule.

spring_worm_030709

The first shovelful of dirt revealed several garden friends. A good sign!
spring_radishbed_030709

Radish bed, all ready for radishes and sweet allysum.
spring_carrotfoliage_030709

Several carrots over-wintered, including this beauty. I do loves the carrot foliage.
spring_babycarrots_030709

A handful of baby carrots – Purple Dragons and Sweet Treats – came out of the winter ground, plump and sweet.
spring_tulips_030709

Tulips are popping up all over my gardens. These are Angeliques. I can’t wait until everything blooms!
spring_crocus_030709

Crocus are gettin’ into the game, too.
spring_shallot_030709

My shallots, planted the same time as the garlic, have decided to peek at the world. Six up so far – I love shallots.
3 Comments
  1. March 11, 2009 5:29 am

    I love reading your blog, fyi. I am so greedy that I wish there was something new to read every day…that is how addicted I am 🙂 Over the weekend I picked up some Jiffy 7 Peat Pellet kits along with some seeds and some soil. I hope to start them in the next couple of days. I am curious about the planting phase. When should I take the small sprouts in their peat pellet soil and put them in a pot? If I start them on 12 March should I place them in their actual pot in 30 days or does it totally depend on the size of the plant?

    Thank you again for your help with this. I plan on blogging all about it and linking back to your words of wisdom on here 🙂

  2. soupaddict permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:50 pm

    Hi Christy,

    Awesome – you’re ready to go! How fun! The timing of transplanting to a pot depends entirely on the size of the plant. Most need a nice foundation of greenery before they’re ready to be moved to a more distant light source (three to four pairs of leaves). But, when roots are poking out of the pellet mesh, they’re definitely ready for a pot!

    Germination times on the packages are rough averages – some seeds may take their dear old time coming up, and therefore will spend more time in the pellets (like my rosemary seedlings, which are playing, ahem, fashionably late). Or, on the opposite end, my basils, which are growing so fast this year, they’ll be in big boy pots before their original germination timeframe was supposed to even end! Can’t wait to read your progress on your blog!

  3. March 12, 2009 4:07 am

    Thanks for the information! I will totally keep you up to date 🙂

Comments are closed.

