Skip to content

Carrot Transplants – an Update

November 29, 2008

I promised some time ago to post an update on the progress of the carrot transplants I planted this fall. Although I should’ve had them in the ground earlier, I’m really happy to report that both the Sweet Treats and Purple Dragons did wonderfully. I only just pulled them yesterday – they’re on the small side, but they’ve survived several hard frosts and some really whacky up-and-down temperatures. And through it all, they’re still sweet and completely edible. (How wonderful is that, pulling fresh veggies from the garden at the end of November?)

I’m definitely going the transplant route with the Spring crop, via Jiffy strips. Carrot top foliage is going to play a specific part of my garden landscaping next year, and I’d like them to have a head start. (Plus, it produces a much more manageable and evenly-spaced crop – I did nothing with the transplants beyond watering them now and then.)

carrots1_112808 carrots2_112808
carrots3_112808 carrots4_112808

Parts of my garden are still in production, including the perennial herbs, rosemary (below, right) and thyme, some leeks, and for some strange reason, the arugula (bottom) is still going strong, fresh and crisp, despite the frosts (must be the row covers working their mojo). I finished turning over and supplementing the main garden today (with a little help from one of my kitties, Georgie, who loves to dig as much as I do). My soil borders on clay, so this year, I turned in an insane amount of chopped leaves, grass clippings and compost. Here’s to a great crop in 2009!

garden_112808 rosemary_112808
arugula_112808
2 Comments
  1. November 30, 2008 5:42 am

    Great to hear of your success with transplanting carrots which are notoriously difficult to achieve. Also remember you can eat the greens! Lots more in the World Carrot Museum.

  2. soupaddict permalink
    December 9, 2008 10:29 pm

    Hi John, I’m really happy with the implications that this little experiment hints at! I have some specific landscaping in mind next year, and am thrilled that those lovely carrot greens can be purposefully placed.

Comments are closed.

