Skip to content

What WAS I thinking?!

October 14, 2008

Jeepers. My spring bulbs have been arriving every few days for the last couple of weeks. Tonight, I opened all the boxes and envelopes to inventory and gauge what I need to accomplish over the next couple of weekends.

Jeepers! I’m not the most efficient shopper. As you may have read in one of my previous posts, last winter I bought 18 tomato seed varieties even though I was only going to be planting 8. So, I have a history of over-buying, and buying impulsively on the web.

JEEPERS! I count over 150 tulip, daffodil & narcissus bulbs in these boxes. That can’t be right. 8, 16, 26, 36, … 89, 101. In just the first box.

Um, you're only looking at the *first* layer of bagged bulbs in this box....

Um, you're only looking at the *first* layer of bagged bulbs in this box....

And again, this is just the first of three layers of bulb packages.  Yikes!

And again, this is just the first of three layers of bulb packages. Yikes!

150 bulbs! Was I crazy? Was I hopped up on frappucinos? That’s a 150 holes in the ground. And worse, I have to color-coordinate these things and arrange them according to height and bloom time. 150 bulbs! Crikey!

Crikey!

On a little brighter note, my garlic and shallots had arrived, too. Well, part of the garlic. The hardnecks arrived (hardnecks produce lovely Spring scapes), but the nursery is not going to ship the softnecks until Spring (I guess I won’t be ordering from Gurney’s anymore; their site didn’t say anything about shipping only in Spring. You plant garlic NOW for summer harvest.) Burpee.com had what I needed and they’re shipping it this week. Goooo, Burpee!

Mmmm, garlic.  This fall, I'm planting an entire allium garden.

Mmmm, garlic. This fall, I'm planting an entire allium garden (and then a second one in the Spring).

Mmm, shallots?  Remember my caramelized shallots post?  I'm drooling just thinking about it....

Mmm, shallots. Remember my caramelized shallots post? I'm drooling just thinking about it....

I guess I have my work cut out for me. Have I mentioned “Crikey!” lately? No? Crikey!

I tore out one of my impatiens beds this evening, mulched them with the lawnmower, along with some grass clippings and golden Autumn leaves, and tossed this particular salad in my new compost bin. Looking at what’s left to still tear down from my various gardens, this bin is going to be filled to the brim by the end of this weekend. I should’ve bought two….

Crikey! 150 #%@^*&%!$ flower bulbs!

