Skip to content

Saturday at the Farmers’ Market

September 28, 2008

It’s the first Fall weekend, and the weather has been just gorgeous in Cincinnati for two straight weeks now. Good time to visit the farmers’ market.

At the Anderson Township Farmers’ Market, the big event was the compost bin sale sponsored by Hamilton County, where county residents could buy one of the cool compost bins shown at the right for only $37.00. (They retail for around $100 – I’d been putting off buying one because of the price.)

I showed up a little after the 9am opening, and holy cow, the line was already wrapped around the parking lot and bent double. Cool. I never would’ve guessed there’d be so much interest in composting in this suburban area. Gooooo, Anderson Township! I’m glad I got in line and waited. It was worth it, and just in time for when I take my garden down in few weeks. I’ll have all winter to brew some soil goodies.

I've been in line for about a half-hour, and those are folks who arrived after me.  Great turn out!

I've been in line for about a half-hour, and those are folks who arrived after me. Great turn out!

Almost there - I can see the tent where you pay.

Almost there - I can see the tent where you pay.

Still some left - maybe I should've bought 2....

Still some left - maybe I should've bought 2....

I took this after I was finished shopping at the market - line's still going strong.

I took this after I was finished shopping at the market - line's still going strong.

Goodies I bought at the farmers’ market
Part of the prize that came with winning the pie baking contest last weekend was $25 in coupons good at any vendor at the farmers’ market. Lovely!

Yummy cherry tomatoes & Candy Hybrid onions

Yummy cherry tomatoes & Candy Hybrid onions

Foccacia pizzas ... they were soooo good!

Foccacia pizzas ... they were soooo good!

The cutest little blueberry pie for two - topped with vanilla ice cream, it was delicious!

The cutest little blueberry pie for two - topped with vanilla ice cream, it was delicious!

Cinnamon scones - look how scrumptious!  (Yeah, okay, they didn't survive the drive home.  A girl has her limits of willpower, ya know.)

Cinnamon scones - look how scrumptious! (Yeah, okay, they didn't survive the drive home. A girl has her limits of willpower, ya know.)

Comments are closed.

