Skip to content

National! “Punctuation” Day…

September 22, 2008

To help my friend and English language-meister, Bill Brohaugh, celebrate National Punctuation Day on Wednesday, Sept 24, my tomatoes and I have started a punctuation scrapbook to the mark (ahem) the day.

There’s the Quotation Mark:

Or, for the typographic persnicketors amongst you, the curly quote:

The ever-popular period:

The much abused (especially by me) comma:

And finally, my personal fave, the ellipsis…

To one and “all,” have a Happy! National, Punctuation? Day…

4 Comments
  1. September 22, 2008 8:53 pm

    I hear tomatoes are good for the colon:

  2. September 22, 2008 10:20 pm

    How wonderful — a blog containing the word “persnicketors.” Even without extolling National Punctuation Day, you made my little-old-English-major heart beat faster! Thanks for a fun post.

  3. soupaddict permalink
    September 23, 2008 12:10 pm

    valwebb: Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ll fess up and admit that I unabashedly stole the use of “persnicketors” from the blog of my friend Bill Brohaugh, who regularly introduces me to such fabulous words (and sniglets) as “persnicketors” and “smugacious.”

Trackbacks

  1. Everything You Know About English Is Wrong » I say “to-mah-to,” she says “I-hate-you,” let’s call the whole thing off

Comments are closed.

