Skip to content

Heirloom tomato – an update

September 21, 2008

I have an update a few additional pictures to share, since my original post on heirloom tomatoes.

Isis Candy, fashionably late.

Isis Candy, fashionably late (click photo to view larger)

My beleaguered Isis Candy tomatoes finally breached the heirloom leaf wall to reach the sunlight, and has produced some fruit. They’re not quite ripe, yet, but I’m very happy to see them. Autumn’s almost here, the days and nights are cooling down, but I’m hoping to get to sample a few before I have to take everything down for the season.

Tomatoes are funny things. Thanks my too-close-for-comfort planting scheme, a lot of branches got sketchy sun exposure. Maybe they were getting a little cabin fever in the shade all summer. Check out a couple of crazy shapes I found today.

I'm leaving these on the vine for a few days.   These conjoined triplets are either Isis Candies or Blondköpfchen.  If they're Isis Candies, they'll ripen to red.

I'm leaving these on the vine for a few days. These conjoined triplets are either Isis Candies or Blondköpfchen. If they're Isis Candies, they'll ripen to red. (click photo to view larger) (Update 9.25: they're Isis Candies, as they're now orange and blushing like crazy.)

I [heart] heirlooms.

I {heart} heirlooms. (click photo to view larger)

Comments are closed.

