Skip to content

Black & Blue Cobbler

August 3, 2011

Normally, I avoid Paula Deen recipes like the plague. Not because I don’t think she’s talented, or because I don’t like Southern food. (Er, there were a lot of “nots” and “don’ts” in that last sentence, so let’s clear up that how-many-negatives-equals-a-positive thing right quick: I do think Paula Deen is talented, and I do like Southern food.)

No, it’s because the woman can sling butter like nobody’s business. Butter’s fine. Butter’s better, in fact, than the many scary chemical-ly alternatives out there. Just not by the sticks (plural). When a Paula Deen recipe appears in a Google search, I usually slide and skitter right by it, as though my very scrolling fingers were, well, buttered.

But. I had a load of fresh fruit from the farmers’ market this weekend and was running out of ideas. In fact, in an odd turnabout for this Heartland region, fruit nearly outnumbered vegetables at the farmers’ markets in June and early July. (If you didn’t count greens, I think they actually would.) Strawberries, peaches, apples, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries. It’s been amazing. And I’ve made more buckles and grunts and boy baits and crumbles and cobblers in the last two months than I have in my entire life. But still. I wanted more cobbler. Well, not exactly cobbler, but similar to cobbler. Something cobbly. And easy.

So this time, I didn’t skitter past Paula.

Paula’s recipe for peach cobbler — on which this recipe is based — is less biscuity and more cakey — the exact texture I wanted. I’ve made this several times, with different fruits (a peaches and blueberries combo is a definite favorite). It’s simply delicious. I love that you can make it ahead of time, and then stick it back in the oven briefly to rewarm before serving without destroying the texture.

Blueberries, wrapped in their frosty coats. Last year, the local blueberry harvest was so bleak that blueberries were selling for $7.00. Per pint.

I didn’t buy many blueberries last year.

But this year, rain and heat has produced more blueberry bumper crops than you can shake a stick at, and I’m stuffing them into my freezer as fast as I can.

I usually don’t go for the blackberries — it’s a seed thing — but they looked so lovely and juicy heaped on one vendor’s table that I couldn’t resist.

I don’t know what it is but I do not like the scent of cooking berries. So, in case you’re new to SoupAddict and wondering whether she’s weird or not, there’s your proof.

It’s pretty as all get out, all pink and foamy, and they taste like heaven, but SoupAddict was grimacing as she stood over this pot to take this picture. Yuck. Bitter feet. Phew, bitter feet.

I’m chalking it up to some kind of nose-brain thing, like some folks have with cilantro where it tastes like soap to them, but not to the rest of us.

“My nose-brain is nuts.” (Deflection of blame — yeah, that’s the ticket.)

A super-easy, stir-by-hand dough comes together quickly while the bitter feet fruit cooks.

Mmm, so pretty. I love the little pucker — muah! — this batch made.

Even the cobbler looks like it’s smiling. (You can bet I am, behind the camera … especially now that the bitter feet smell is gone.) That looks like a smile, right? No? Too much caffeine? [Thought so.]

Black & Blue Cobbler

adapted from Paula Deen

I cut Paula’s recipe in half, as it calls for a 3 quart baking dish and an army to consume it. My 1 1/2 quart souffle dish made plenty for six people. As I noted above, I’ve used various fruits with this recipe, substituting cup for cup. I do change up the syrup seasoning, depending on the fruit (e.g., 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of the Grand Marnier for peaches)

1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen
1 cup blackberries, fresh or frozen
1/4 cup water
1 cup sugar, divided
1 tablespoon corn starch
1 tablespoon Grand Marnier
1 pinch freshly ground nutmeg

4 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Put the butter in a 1 1/2 quart baking dish and place in oven to melt.

Combine the berries, 1/2 cup sugar, and water in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer. Sprinkle the corn starch over the mixture and stir. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add the Grand Marnier and nutmeg, mixing well. Remove from heat.

Mix remaining 1/2 cup sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and add milk slowly to prevent clumping. Pour mixture over melted butter in the baking dish. Do not stir. Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup. Batter will rise to top during baking. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

To serve, scoop onto a plate and serve with your favorite vanilla ice cream.

21 Comments
  1. Darlynne permalink
    August 3, 2011 5:53 pm

    The white and red raspberries have been spectacular this year, as have the blackberries. I could see this mash up working quite well in your cobbler. Hungry now.

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 4, 2011 8:45 am

      For the areas that didn’t have weather extremes (like floods, or, now drought), the excess rain and heat have paid off. My gardens are huge and healthy. They’re running late because of the wet spring, but I predict late August and all of September are going to make for very happy meals. And I’m grateful that my local farmers can keep me supplied between now and then!

  2. August 3, 2011 6:18 pm

    We recently moved out west from Atlanta. In Atlanta the blueberries grow like mad and we could go to the PYO and fill up. Out here, blueberries just don’t grow. The local tent sellers are bringing them in from Oregon, and they are delicious. I’m paying $27/flat, which is not awesome or awful. I am currently working on freezing and drying 5 flats that I picked up today. I WILL have sweet deliciousness this winter. I heart cobbler. This sounds so super tasty. I also love the sound of that peach and blueberry cobbler.

    I’ve been busy putting up zucchini both frozen and dehydrated. I wrote about it twice on my blog in the last couple of weeks with all the ideas. I can’t wait until my tomatoes and peppers come in. That’s when I start canning like a mad woman. Fortunately (I guess), we got started super late this year bc of an extraordinarily cold spring, so my kids might actually be in preschool when tomatoes come in, and that will be a huge help when I’m trying to can. Of course, we also might be moving in a couple of weeks, so who knows how this will go down. Anyway, love the pictures, love the food. I might be making those cheesesteaks tonight!

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 4, 2011 8:42 am

      I’m gearing up for canning and freezing. My tomatoes are late this year, too, so I’m hoping for cooler weather this year when I start canning. Last year, it was so hot, there was water streaming off my kitchen windows whenever I had the canner going.

  3. August 4, 2011 3:03 am

    I read your blog from France. Help me please – how much is a stick of butter?

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 4, 2011 8:36 am

      Hi Diane,

      Great question! Here’s the scoop:

      1 U.S. stick butter = 4 ounces = 8 tablespoons = 1/2 cup = 113.4g

      Hope that helps!

  4. Phyllis Ryan permalink
    August 4, 2011 8:54 am

    I am heading to the grocery and farmers market today, and now I know what to do with the bumper crop of berries on the shelves. My tomatoes are all dead. Way to hot here, but they are now suggesting that we start over and have a late fall crop. I may just do that.

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 10, 2011 12:26 pm

      It’s been brutal for folks. Here, I’ve been extremely lucky. Cincinnati sits in this weird little geographical bowl, and we’ve had a fair amount of rain throughout the summer. (The result is unspeakable humidity served up with your caprese salad, but, I’ll take it.)

      That’s an interesting experiment – I hope it works out, and let me know. I know my tomatoes keep kicking out fruit until I pull the plants down in November, so, there’s a good chance that will work.

  5. August 4, 2011 12:17 pm

    Looks fabulous. I just put this on my list to make over the weekend–I’ve barely taken advantage of berries this season, and that needs to change!

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 10, 2011 12:27 pm

      They’ve been really good this year, in my next o’ the woods!

  6. jolene novak permalink
    August 4, 2011 4:57 pm

    for a more savory side dish with a meal try your cherry tomatoes yum. salt to taste,little basil. I like a little dried dill also.

  7. August 5, 2011 1:03 pm

    My mom used to make something similar to this but with blueberries only that I loved!

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 10, 2011 12:29 pm

      To be honest, I really wanted to make this batch with just blueberries, but, like a dolt, I just didn’t buy enough to freeze for all my winter needs (our blueberry season ends in early July — too late). So, I was being greedy, cutting in blackberries instead. 🙂

  8. August 5, 2011 4:38 pm

    Good stuff, SoupAddict, made it this afternoon! A question, though – you said if using peaches instead of blackberries, substitute cinnamon for the Grand Marnier. Surely not a whole tablespoon of cinnamon? Maybe a teaspoon?

    Thanks!

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 5, 2011 4:53 pm

      Ack! This is what happens when I’m typing things off the cuff without thinking them through. I cannot imagine how gross a tablespoon of cinnamon would be. And I love cinnamon. Thank you, I’m fixing that right now….

  9. August 5, 2011 6:46 pm

    You still da bomb.

  10. August 6, 2011 5:16 pm

    OMG! Does that “pucker” resemble what I think it does or is it just me, with too many anatomical parts on the brain? Your pretty pics and Paula prose positively put a smile on my face. Gotta go. I’m outta Ps.

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 10, 2011 12:30 pm

      Lentil, you have a way with the, uh, imagery. LOL

  11. August 9, 2011 12:42 pm

    Just made this the other night–delicious!! My only little issue was that the berries didn’t sink to the bottom during baking–they stayed toward the top/middle in a big soupy (delicious) mess . . . my batter looked thinner than yours, so maybe that was it. But regardless, it’s still soooooo tasty!

    • SoupAddict permalink
      August 10, 2011 12:34 pm

      I’m fairly certain it’s the amount of water called for in Paula’s recipe. I’ve had sporadic issues with soupiness. I tend to leave the fruit cooking longer than called for (by accident, of course), and those times have produced better results. I bet 3 tablespoons of water (in the recipe version above) would be plenty.

Trackbacks

  1. Blueberry Port Cobbler | Jenna's Everything Blog

Comments are closed.